Hello and Welcome to This Mom’s Journey! I am a married mom of three active kids, ages 12, 9 and 7. I live in suburbia and drive a mini van – although I am hoping this is the last year. My kids are active in sports, music and other activities, which means I spend a lot of time shuttling them back and forth (thus the need for the mini van).

I am a former graphic artist who burned out at my job and went looking for something more flexible and family friendly. I started a pet sitting and dog walking business. After the first year, I wanted to expand my business and I went back to school to be a dog groomer. To keep the flexible lifestyle I started, I groom dogs out of my house during the school day. I am then free to be a mom without the guilty balance of work and family.

My husband and I are high school sweethearts and have been married almost 20 years. We enjoy spending time together, both with our kids and just the two of us. The best part of our day is making dinner together and relaxing with a glass of wine.

I am a big volunteer. In fact, I do have a hard time saying no. Why is it that it’s always the same people who volunteer and often times, the busiest ones? I am a Girl Scout leader, room mom, PTA committee member and help out in the libraries and classrooms of my kids schools. I also volunteer at church as a part of my kids’ religious education. The only thing I don’t do is coach sports as I did not play as a kid. My husband covers that part of our life – I think he coaches five teams covering two sports each year.

I have two black Labrador Retrievers who we rescued 2 years ago. We also have a black cat who showed up on our door step as a kitten. Is that good or bad luck? Either way, he is now part of our family!

My passion is writing. I love the written word. I am an avid reader and my favorite subject in school was English. I have recently started writing online for Ehow and I have two blogs – this one and one about my journey as a writer.

Thank you for stopping by to read this new blog and new part of my journey. Please feel free to comment at any time and share your journey with me.

