My husband and I are big foodies and both enjoy cooking. One of us cook almost every night however, there is always one night that we are just too scheduled and order out! It is a great time of the day for us. We catch up on each others day and drink a glass of wine. We often have cheese and crackers, hummus or fresh veggies to snack on while we cook. My husband grills most of the meals that he makes (year round despite our climate) so it is great to hang out on the deck when the weather is nice and watch the kids and the dogs play in the yard.

Yesterday was my day to cook. The cook is decided each morning based on our schedule for the day. I made a breaded chicken breast in a wine and diced tomato sauce stuffed with rice, cheese and spinach. It went great with garlic bread and a glass of chardonnay. (My kids hate the rice so they got corn and fresh veggies to dip.) So here is the recipe in case you want to try it.

Chicken

5 chicken breasts, pounded thin

Flour, eggs and bread crumbs for breading

28oz. can of diced tomatoes and an additional 14oz. can for rice

fresh garlic to taste

1 tbsp. oregano (fresh is better, but didn’t have any)

1/2 cup of white wine

butter for browning chicken and 1/2 stick of butter to melt into sauce

Also need 1 cup mozzarella cheese for rice

Bread chicken by flouring, dipping in eggs and then breadcrumbs. I like to fill a bag with the flour/breadcrumbs and shake the chicken up inside. Place a little butter in pan so the chicken doesn’t stick. Add the chicken to the pan and brown on both sides (10 minutes each side). Then add the tomatoes, garlic, wine, oregano and butter. Cover with lid, turning every 15 minutes. Chicken is done when the internal temperature is 180 degrees. (About an hour)

Rice

Use either brown or white rice. I had minute rice on hand so that is what I used. Cook rice according to directions. I made 2 cups for us and we had enough for leftovers. In a separate pan, saute spinach with a little garlic and butter. You can use fresh spinach (as I did) or frozen spinach. When rice and spinach are done, combine in a large bowl with 14oz. can of diced tomatoes and 1 cup of mozzarella cheese . I usually add a little sauce from the pan, too, to give it flavor from the chicken. The rice dish only takes about 15 minutes to make.

Now I said earlier that the chicken was stuffed. Usually it is, but I was too lazy and just made the rice separately. If you stuff the chicken, you need to make the rice first, spoon it into the raw chicken, roll the chicken and tie with a string. It is good either way.

Let me know what you think!

