Tomorrow my kids have a day off from school – again. I usually take Fridays off, and since I worked all of spring break, I told the kids we would do something tomorrow. In my search, I remembered that the local library has a program called “Museum Adventure Pass”. This is strictly for Chicagoland library cardholders. Check to see if your library is participating here.

There are many great local area museums that are part of this program. See the full list here. It includes Brookfield Zoo, the Morton Arboretum, the Chicago Botanical Gardens, and many local heritage and historical museums.

To get the free passes, you need to present your library card to the librarian and tell her which museum you would like to visit on which day. There is a limited number of passes available. Your name will be printed on the pass so you can’t give it someone else to use. Seems pretty simple.

I also went looking for “free days” at the Chicago Museums. Of course, Lincoln Park Zoo is always free. I took my kids there a few years ago. It is not as exciting when compared to Brookfield, but we  had a good time. In case you are looking to go to a free museum (none are free tomorrow), check out the list here. It looks like there are some good free days in early June. We get out before Memorial Day so I hope to get down there. (Just waiting for the last of the baseball/softball schedules!)

For my out of state friends and family, as well as the locals,  if you are visiting Chicago, you might want to get the Go Chicago Card. It is a 1 to 7 day pass (similar to the Disney passes) to visit Chicago attractions like Navy Pier, Adler Planetarium, Arlington Park, Legoland, etc. See the full list here.  The prices range (for adults) from $66.99 for a 1 day pass, to $169.99 for a 7 day pass. I haven’t check out the savings, but they claim you save up to 35-55%. The only bad part is that it is for consecutive days only. And, the Go Card can be used in other cities, too. If you are traveling this summer, it might be worth a look.

After sharing all this with you, I still don’t have a plan for tomorrow as no one can agree. I would love to hear some ideas from you!

