I love to read. I probably read 40-50 books every year. How do I find the time? If it is a good book, I make the time. I read whenever I can find a few minutes, at breakfast and lunch, in the pick up line at school, and stay up reading until I can’t keep my eyes open any longer.

It is funny how your taste in reading material changes over the years. When I was in my late teens/early twenties, I read every Danielle Steel book she had written. I started with The Promise. It is about a couple that is planning to get married, even though his mother doesn’t like her. The bride to be has a terrible accident and is disfigured. The groom’s mother offers to pay for plastic surgery if she leaves her son. The bride reluctantly agrees. I loved that book and had to read the rest of her books. However, after reading so many, they started to sound the same.

So I switched authors. I read Mary Higgins Clark books, Nora Roberts, John Grisham, Nicholas Sparks, Belva Plain. I loved Jodi Picoult for awhile. In fact, recently I found a box of things I saved from high school. I had clipped a short story out of Seventeen Magazine that I loved. The author was Jodi Picoult. Who knew!

I read all the books by each author because I thought that if I enjoyed one book, I would enjoy them all. But even the best authors’ books start to sound alike after a while.

So then I started reading all the best selling (fiction) books. I bounced around from author to author. Sometimes I would read other books by the same author, but most of the time I skipped around. I started looking up book clubs to see what they were reading. I never joined a book club. I think I am too selfish with my time. I want to read what I want to read. I gave up “having to read a book” when I graduated.

I enjoyed the different writing styles and stories. I loved Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes. He totally avoided the AP style of writing! Memoirs have been my fall back genre. If I can’t find anything to read, I search through the memoirs/autobiographies. I love to read true stories about peoples struggles and successes. It is very inspiring.

A couple months ago, a friend of mine suggested goodreads.com to me. It is a website where you can list the books you read and rate them. It is also a social network – you can become friends and find your friends via email addresses. You can then view what they are reading and decide if it interests you. You can also search books by genre, author, title, etc. It is a great way to find new books to read. Give it a try and look me up!

