My family is now entering the busiest time of our year. Although school is wrapping up, sports are in high gear. We only have three weeks of the year where we don’t have kids in sports. It is during May and June that we have everyone playing at the same time!

We will spend most of our “free time” on a baseball/softball field for the next 2 months. Weekday games start at 6:00. Most games are 15-30 minutes away and the teams warm up 30-45 minutes before game time. That means we are eating dinner at 4:30. I don’t have much time to make dinner after work, but since I work from home, I cooked our dinner 15 minutes at a time yesterday.

I made lasagna. At 8:00 am, I browned the ground beef. I put it in the crockpot with the tomatoes, etc. to make the sauce. At noon, I made the noodles while I ate lunch. When they were done, I put the lasagna together and put it in the fridge. At 3:15, I left to pick up the kids from school and put the lasagna in the oven. We were seated at the table at 4:30 to eat it. I even threw in garlic bread and made hard boiled eggs for my son who wouldn’t eat the lasagna.

Mission accomplished! The only bad thing was that the game we were rushing to was cancelled when the team arrived. 😦

Recipe:
Brown ground beef (1 lbs). Place in crockpot with 28oz. can diced tomatoes, (2) 6oz. cans tomato paste, 3 1/2 cups of water, garlic and oregano to taste. I set it on high for 4 hours. You can also make this on the stove. Let it simmer an hour or so.

Cook lasagna noodles. Ladle a little sauce in the bottom of a 13 x 9 (glass) pan. Place three noodles on bottom. Spoon out ground beef from crockpot (leaving as much sauce behind). Place another layer of noodles. Layer your choice of cheese (I used ricotta) and another layer of noodles. Spoon on the rest of the beef and cover with shredded mozzarella cheese. Cover with aluminum foil. Refrigerate or cook right away. Cooks 1 1/4 hours at 350 degrees. Enjoy!

