Although this is Monday, I woke up in a great mood. Yes, I have a full day of work ahead of me, plus the usual things around the house and two kid activities after school. Dinner will probably be at 7:30 again, which for me, is better than 4:30. Yesterday was a good day, but really rather ordinary. I went for an early morning bike ride with a good friend of mine, hosted a birthday party for our son, had a nice dinner with my family and watched the season finale of Grey’s Anatomy. (OMG!)

So this morning I woke up with these random thoughts of gratefulness so I thought I would share.

1. God doesn’t exist only in a church. We didn’t go to church yesterday. However, while on the trails of my bike ride, I saw God everywhere. He was in the wild flowers, the gentle breeze, the listening ear of a friend, and happy/content faces of the others sharing the trail with us that morning. Another friend told me she doesn’t need the building to know that God is listening to her. Yesterday, I realized she was right.

2. You are given the people in your life to help you with your journey. My husband had a less than ideal childhood. Without it he would be another person. He found many mentors in life to help shape his work ethic, volunteer spirit, and friendships. I believe our children serve as our mentors, too. They have taught us to love unconditionally.

3. The influence of friends is a good thing. It’s funny how we think that the influence of the friends of our children may not always be ideal. My friends have taught me so many things about myself. I have learned how to be a better friend and a more giving person. I have learned to laugh at myself and not take everything so seriously. I believe their influences gave me some of the tools for my journey in life. The same can be said for my children’s friends.

4. You don’t have to be the best; just do your best. This is something we tell our kids all the time. I would be okay with a lower grade on a report card if I knew that my child did the very best they could. This applies to adults, too. Put your best foot forward and be proud of yourself. Don’t compare yourself to others successes. Your success or failure is all that matters.

5. You are responsible for your own happiness. I have watched a very good friend go through a mid-life crisis and blame everyone except himself for where he is in life. If you are unhappy with your life, change it. It is not the fault of your parents, your spouse, your kids or your boss. Yes, these people are a big part of your life, but at the end of the day, you are the only one who has to walk around in your shoes. We only get one life. Enjoy it.

