Today is the last day of school for our kids. They go in for an hour so they get money from the state (ha ha). It is truly a waste of time for everyone involved. This is the earliest they have ever gotten out. The other school district in town always runs on this schedule. Our district tried it for one year – one and done. A survey of the parents concluded that going back in mid August was too early for their vacations, etc. The fact that our elementary schools don’t have air conditioning plays a big part, too.

So that means the get out a week early and start a week late – an extra two weeks of summer vacation. Hooray! – for them.

First of all, I am not prepared to have everyone home yet. I didn’t finish all the projects I wanted to have done by the time school got out. The last week got here so fast! Even the school was little confused by getting out a week early. My middle daughter handed in a state float project on Tuesday. They got them back on Thursday. How did the teacher have time to look at them? Were they even counted as a grade? My oldest daughter was still working on projects as of Tuesday night. When do they close their books?

Since it is the last week of school, each of the kids have been coming home with TONS of paperwork. I don’t have time to read through everything! I just put them in piles.

Now the kids will be home for 12 weeks instead of 10. Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with our kids. Most of the time, they are a lot of fun. However, I work from home, as does my husband. Five of us in the house for the summer? How productive will that be? Twelve weeks is just too long when you are the parent. I am sure the kids will love it!

