Where do you fall in your family’s birth order? I am the oldest of two. My sister and I are three years apart. As the older daughter, I was often aggravated with the fact that as soon as I was old enough to do something, my parents allowed my sister to do it, too. I often wondered why she didn’t have to wait an additional three years.

Our own children have a different situation. We have the older and younger sister (who is also the middle child) and our son is the youngest and only boy. My experience with the middle child was based on the Brady Bunch. (Marcia, Marcia, Marcia!) I never wanted her to have to be her sister’s shadow.

Thankfully my daughters have different tastes, activities and personalities. The big difference between them is 2 1/2 years in age.

My oldest daughter got a cell phone last year. We felt that entering middle school was a good time to get one. She would be taking the bus and going more places with friends. Many of her friends got phones for the same reason.

Our middle daughter has been pouting about the fact that she doesn’t have a phone for the past year. She brings it up constantly. A couple of her friends do have phones. Coincidentally, they are the youngest of two children. Sound familiar?

My husband is also the oldest so our sympathies fall with our oldest child in this case. Sorry honey, it’s good enough for Cubs fans – wait ’til next year!

