While doing research for an article about legitimate work from home jobs, I came across Swagbucks. Have you ever heard of Swagbucks? I read about it in a few couponing blogs and I decided it try it out.

Swagbucks is a search engine that pays you points for using it. With these free points, you can buy things, such as gift certificates to places like Amazon.com. You can also earn points by shopping at online stores through Swagbucks. They have many online stores available – Target, Apple, Macy’s, etc. You earn 2 Swagbucks for every dollar you spend. If you buy a lot online, this can add up quickly. Referrals can also earn you points. You can also follow the Swag Guy to find codes to get you points, which I haven’t done.

Now let me clarify. You do not get points every time you search. It is like gambling. There isn’t a rhyme or reason to it, at least that I can see. I got 5 points yesterday for copying a sentence from this post and searching for it. I didn’t get any points for “softball cheers” or “bp oil spill” which were actual researches.

Is this really worth doing or is it a waste of time? I signed up a few months ago. I have 436 Swagbucks. With 450, I can buy a $5.00 Amazon gift card. With 700 points I can get $5.00 in Paypal cash. Now I don’t use it nearly as much as I could. If I sat at a computer all day, I could check random words and phases to get about 30 point per day. Yesterday I had more time on my hands than usual and I earned 44 points. I just happened to be on and off the computer checking my email, Facebook, Amazon, WordPress and a couple of other blogs I follow. Each time I went on yesterday, I checked out my Swagbucks because I planned to write about it in my blog. There is a toolbar you can download to make searching easier. (Sometimes you get one Swagbuck just for having the toolbar.)

Honestly, I like Goggle better as a search engine. Swagbucks (Proedge) is a meta search engine. What that means is that it doesn’t create its own index like Google does. It uses many different indexes from Google, Bing, Yahoo, etc. and displays the results according to their source giving you the “best of the best”. It operates on the premise that using more than one index gives you a more complete search. However, I don’t find that to be true. I guess it is a matter of personal preference.

If you like this sort of thing, there are other search and win sites. I haven’t tried them out but you might want to – iRazoo and Blingo are just a few names. Blingo is owned by Publishers Clearing House – what does that tell you?

Will I keep doing this? Maybe. Some people play the lottery every week and get nothing back. This takes less time (only a few seconds) and I don’t pay anyone for a chance a win. Eventually, I will win a prize. You don’t have that guarantee in the lottery.

