I consider myself a morning person. I enjoy being the first one up in the morning to enjoy the peace of the quiet house. I love to bike ride or walk the dogs when there are few morning people like myself outside. When I worked in an office, I liked to get an early start and beat the traffic. I also think I am a bit selfish since because I get up early, I expect to have that time to myself.

This Monday morning was no different. Although I didn’t set the alarm, I have three four-legged alarm clocks that remind me that the sun came up. I did my usual upstairs routine and then came downstairs. The dogs followed me to the backdoor. I was making coffee when my eight-year-old son wandered in. He is also a morning person, but I believe he just wants to beat his sisters to the remote.

My plan was to sit down at my computer, check my email, write a blog and complete another article I had to write this week. I should know, as a mom, my plans are rarely my own. While making the coffee, I reminded my son he had soccer camp this week. OMG you should have heard the whining. “What?! But it’s so early.” At this point, camp was 1 1/2 hours away. All he needed to do was to eat, brush his teeth, put on clothes and find his soccer stuff.

I sat down at the kitchen table with my coffee and computer. He continued to whine from the family room. It is very hard to concentrate with that going on. The dogs then wanted to go back out. There is a bird nest in the bushes around our deck. I got up to let them out and then decided I should probably throw in a load of laundry. My coffee sat on the table, getting cold. I told my son to eat while he sat there in front of the tv and I carried the clean clothes up the stairs. I heard the dogs barking outside and went to let them in. More whining from my son over our breakfast choices.

I tried to sit down a few mores times but it was useless. Every time I did, I had to pop back up. He couldn’t find his ball. When I found it, he told me it was too small. Then we had to find his sister’s old ball which, of course, was flat. Then I had to find the pin for the pump. My husband filled it for me so I could sit back at the computer. I had a customer coming in less than an hour.

After five minutes at the computer, my son couldn’t find his shin guards or cleats. Really? I have a spot for all that stuff in the laundry room. I looked all over his room and found them shoved behind his dresser. Sat down again. Dogs barked at back door – third time to visit the birds. Sat down again. He can’t put his socks on over the shin guards. Come on! Brought dogs back in.

While I was up, I straightened up the house, putting away shoes, blankets, books, made my bed, etc. Why bother to sit while he was still home?

His ride came about 15 minutes ago and all I did was to check my email and write this blog. I hope you get a morning chuckle out of it.

Early Bird
Oh, if you’re a bird, be an early bird
And catch the worm for your breakfast plate.
If you’re a bird, be an early early bird –
But if you’re a worm, sleep late.

Shel Silverstein

