In the past week, my husband and I have had two date nights. Finally, the kids sports schedules are slowing down and we have time for each other again.

Saturday night we went out with friends to have dinner at Il Sogno in Wheaton and see a play at Wheaton Drama. It started out as ten for dinner, but as the week went on, life got in the way for six of them. It was just four of us for dinner and the other six met us for the play. If you haven’t been to Wheaton Drama, it is well worth the trip. Every seat is great in the small theater and the tickets are cheap. We went to see Sylvia and the tickets were $10.00 a piece. Over the years, we have seen dozens of plays there.

Tuesday night – yes, a weeknight – we went out to celebrate our anniversary a little early. My parents took the kids out for dinner and a movie so we jumped at the opportunity to go out again. We had dinner at my favorite restaurant, Catch 35. We ordered a bottle of Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay, and had crab bisque. My husband chose crab crusted tilapia and I had scallops in truffle oil with parmigiana risotto. We had to roll out of there! We had an hour to kill before the kids got home, so we walked in downtown Naperville.

We ended up in my favorite book store, Andersons. I could have spent all night in there, but they were closing in a half hour. I love the smell of the musty bookstore and the personal recommendations that are listed under the books. The employees are knowledgeable and friendly. It’s one of the last small town places in a city of 144,000. We left there $50.00 lighter.

It was great to be able to spend quality time together, just the two of us. These two date nights are not much different than the ones we shared 24 years ago. Of course, back then, we were teenagers, broke and living at home. We have come a long way and I’m happy to share this journey with the same man who won my heart so many years ago!

