This week I heard of two different occasions where a girl was called “fat” by her peers. These were neighborhood girls and the stories were relayed to me by my daughters. The girls in question are 10 and 12 years old. How sad is that?

It gets worse. It wasn’t like these girls happened to overhear something being said about them. People talk about other people all the time. No, these girls were told “you are fat” to their face by girls that they considered friends. I was brought to tears when I heard the story. How cruel!

I know both of these girls. I don’t think they are overweight. I think they are athletic. They wear average sized clothes. Are there girls their age that are smaller then these girls? Yes, of course. Sadly, these girls are not exempt from criticism.

When I was a kid, I was very tall and thin. It was nothing I could control. I come from a long line of people with the same build. People used to (and notice I said used to) call me skinny. It wasn’t said in a complementary way. It was said with disgust, just like the “fat” comments. People were telling me that I was different from them, and as a kid, that is not what you want to hear.

Bottom line, don’t comment on people’s size – short, tall, thin or not. Chances are, they can’t control it either.

