I went to a Creed concert last night with my husband and friends of ours. I am not a Creed fan and only recognized two songs (that is “recognize”, not “know the words to”). It was much different than the Bon Jovi/Kid Rock concert I went to a few weeks before where I knew all the words and sang along until I was hoarse. I went to this concert because my husband is a Creed fan and he wanted to go.

That’s what you do when you are married. You do things that you don’t really have an interest in because your spouse enjoys it. My husband watched “The Way We Were” with me one night because I asked him to. Not only did it earn him points that night, it is something I will remember for a long time.

Over the almost 25 years that we have been together, we have each suffered through the other person’s idea of a good time. In fact, since I am in charge of our social calendar, he probably suffered more than I did.

It’s not all bad. I watched enough Nascar on TV with him over the years that when they build Chicagoland Speedway, I was happy to go to races with him. I even have my own driver, Jimmie Johnson. BTW, I liked him when he drove the Excedrin car for the Busch series, not because of his success in Nextel Cup.

At the concert, my husband and one of the other guys talked about going to see the Cancer Bats concert. I think that is the same day when I volunteer myself as a live model for dental students learning root canal. Bummer, I won’t be able to make it!

