For those of you that know me, you would probably agree that I am a passionate person. When I am happy or angry, I tend to get in a big hurry to express that. My blog has become an extension of that passion. I enjoy sharing things that I find interesting, frustrating, inspiring and funny. When I am writing about something I am passionate about, in my haste, I make errors in grammar and spelling.

My husband asked me, “Don’t you proofread?”. Yes, believe it or not, I do. I used to do it for a living. I worked in the printing industry for 18 years. I worked in what is called the Prepress Department. We did all the typesetting, design and plates for the presses. If it was wrong in our department, it was wrong on the press. It is a lot easier to read another person’s work and find errors. It is a whole different story to find your own.

Unfortunately, when you read your own work, you usually read over the errors. The trick when proofreading your own work is to come back with a fresh set of eyes. Come back to it? I am a working mom with three active kids. I have a limited amount of time for each project. I usually finish it and move on.

My errors usually occur when I rewrite part of a sentence and leave in words that should have been taken out. I have also been know to type a similar word (ie loose vs. lose). I could say it is a typo, but it is more like a disconnect in my brain. I know what I want to say. My fingers don’t always get it.

You can’t rely on modern technology. My iPad offers spelling suggestions as you are typing. If you hit the space button, sometimes it types in the word it suggested, whether you wanted it or not. Spell Checker is a great tool, but unfortunately, if you type something that is a real word, it doesn’t underline it. You can see the problem in this poem below:

Eye have a spelling chequer,
It came with my Pea Sea.
It plane lee marks four my revue
Miss Steaks I can knot sea.

Eye strike the quays and type a whirred
And weight four it two say
Weather eye am write oar wrong
It tells me straight a weigh.

Eye ran this poem threw it,
Your shore real glad two no.
Its vary polished in its weigh.
My chequer tolled me sew.

A chequer is a bless thing,
It freeze yew lodes of thyme.
It helps me right all stiles of righting,
And aides me when eye rime.

Each frays come posed up on my screen
Eye trussed too bee a joule.
The chequer pours o’er every word
Two cheque sum spelling rule.
(The original version of this poem was written by Jerrold H. Zar in 1992)

