We are quickly settling into the month of September. The kids have been back to school for two weeks. We are back to our fall sport routine and music lessons. Tryouts for school year activities, curriculum nights and miscellaneous parent meetings fill the few open evenings in our calendar. Within the next week or so, before-school activities will be underway. The weekends will be filled with soccer games, followed by basketball, more soccer and the 10 month softball season. Before you know it, another year will have gone by.

It can sometimes be overwhelming to see all of those entries on the calendar. Like most moms, I struggle to get everyone where they need to be on time, with all their equipment. I always have one or two conflicts each week, but I can usually rely on my husband or carpool to help me out.

When it was just the two of us, our calendar was not as full. We could be more spontaneous with our plans. Now, it takes two months to schedule a night out with friends. One day, in the not so distant future, the kids won’t need us to drive them all over or root for them at the games. Our calendar will be a little emptier (not to mention our lives).

I decided that this year, I will count my blessings and not complain about my calendar full of activities and social events. There could be a lot worse events on the calendar – doctor appointments, memorials or sadly, nothing at all.

