I can remember a few national events where I was at home and September 11th was one of them. I was home sick from school when Reagan was shot. I was 10, but I remember it because that was all that was on TV. I was also home sick six years later when the Challenger exploded. I could only think of the poor kids in Christa McAuliffe’s school.

On the night of September 10th, 2001, we were watching the news. Michael Jordan had said he wanted to come back to basketball and in Chicago, that was the headline news. I remember saying, they must be short on news stories to make this the headliner. Wish I could take that back!

On the morning of September 11, 2001, I was working out of the house as a graphic artist. I was on the phone with a vendor and he said there was some kind of plane crash in New York. I remember turning on the TV and then trying to contact my husband at work. I knew he was in a meeting that couldn’t be interrupted, so I sent a fax, hoping to catch someone’s attention in the office.

I had planned to go to my neighbor’s house late morning to have a play group with our kids. Instead, the kids played together while we were glued to the TV for hours. I think we watched that awful scene of the Twin Towers coming down dozens of times. They are visions that are forever stuck in my head.

Thankfully, my husband was only a few miles away and could get home that night. Many of our neighbors that traveled were stranded all over the country. I have always feared plane crashes. Having four planes go down in such a short time was beyond frightening.

The sky was eerily silent for a week. The TV played nothing but updates of the scenes of the Twin Towers, the Pentagon and rural Pennsylvania. We wondered what was going to happen next.

A few weeks later my husband traveled to Virginia for a week long conference. I was not happy to watch him go and leave me with a 3 year old, 18month old and one more on the way. It was a scary time for the United States.

Today marks the 9th anniversary of this terrible event in our history. Put up your flag today to let them know we still remember.

