I read the obituaries every time I read the paper. It may sound grim, but I enjoy reading about what people did with their life. I guess it is my inner genealogist, but I like reading about their families, career choices, accomplishments, hobbies and favorite charities. It doesn’t matter that they are total strangers.

I have been interested in genealogy since I was 18 and I can trace my family back (on one side) to the 1600’s. Obituaries are a great source for genealogists. My grandmother, who is still living, keeps what the family calls “the dead book”. She reads the obits, too and has clipped those of people she knows from the newspaper. These go back to the early 1950’s. By reading the obituaries of family members, I found out things about them that I never might have known otherwise. I found out that her uncle, who was 100% Italian, was on Eliot Ness’s team.

When I read the obits, I often think about that poem, The Dash. This poem is written by Linda Ellis and you can read it here. Basically, this poem reminds us that we only have one life, so live it to its fullest.

What better day to start than today.

