A couple weeks ago I was at the library killing time. Don’t get me wrong, I love the library, but this time I was waiting for my daughter’s cello lesson to end so we could go onto the next activity.

I was looking for something new to read so I wandered up and down the aisles. I came across this book that I picked up based on the title “These is my Words” by Nancy E. Turner. The grammar error interested me. I flipped through it and found that it was a historical fiction book written in diary form of a woman living in the Arizona Territories in the late 1800’s. The author based it loosely on her great-grandmother’s life. Bored with Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult, I decided to check it out.

The book sat on my counter for a full week before I even opened it. I hate starting new books. I love being in the middle of a book that is so great, you can’t put it down. This, it turned out, was one of those books.

The main character, Sarah, was a very strong woman, who was not afraid of Indians, men, or hard work. She was an entrepreneur in a world of men, mother, wife and a good shot with a rifle. She loved and lost and buried many family members. Even “living” a hundred years ago, she was very inspiring. After reading this book in less than a week, I was happy to learn that the author wrote two other books about Sarah and her family. Can’t wait to check them out.

