I live in a house with two picky eaters. My middle daughter will try almost anything and likes most of what she tries. The other two could live off of frozen chicken nuggets and noodles for the rest of their lives.

When I came up with a meal that satisfied four out of five people, I considered that a victory! In addition to being a hit, it was easy to make and was half the cost of take out pizza. (Which by the way, no one can agree on at my house.)

The menu was pulled pork sandwiches on fresh kaiser rolls, oven roasted potatoes and acorn squash. The pork went in the crock pot for several hours and the veggies were in the oven for an hour. We even had some leftover pork for lunch the next day.

Pork Roast
Place in crock pot with water (about 1/2 inch deep)
I seasoned with fresh garlic and cumin, although you can season to taste
I roasted on high for 2 hours and then switched to low for 3 hours.
As long as the internal temperature is 160 degrees, it is good to go.
I pulled apart the pork with two forks and left it for the individual to season with either BBQ sauce or Ketchup.

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Cut unpeeled potatoes into cubes.
Mix with one package of Lipton dry onion soup mix and olive oil
Place in greased casserole dish and cover with lid or foil

Acorn Squash
Cut Squash in half and place upside down in shallow casserole dish with a 1/2″ water.
Do not cover.
When the squash is done, melt a 1/2 stick of butter and add cinnamon and sugar.
Pour melted butter mixture over the squash.

Both potatoes and squash cooked together at 350 degrees for an hour.
Let me know if you try it and what you thought of it!

