I know a lot of women who are college-educated and had very nice careers before they chose to stay home with their children. Now those children are in school full time, leaving them 6 1/2 hours a day to do errands, cleaning, shopping and socializing. Many of these women also volunteer during the day. At the end of the school day, their mom-job starts up again and they spend a good part of the late afternoon and evening driving kids to their activities. It seems they are busier now then when they had the kids home all day. They couldn’t go back to work now.

Something is still missing from their life, however. While the job of being a mom is the most important one in the world, there is no paycheck at the end of the week and often times, no praise for a job well done. There are times when these moms want to go back to work. The problem is, there are very few jobs available that are interesting, that pay well and that work around the school year schedule.

Why not start your own business? It can be done. If you have been out of work for 10 or more years, you will probably not be able to step right back into your former career. This is your opportunity to find something that you really enjoy and make money doing it. All you really need is desire to make it work, a supportive family and a little education.

Start by making a list of all the things you enjoy doing. Then research career opportunities online with those keywords. You will be surprised to see how much information comes up.

The abridged version of my story is this: I was unhappy with my job in graphic arts and was looking for something else. I didn’t want to go back to school full time – I had a 4, 6 and 8 year old at the time. At the same time, we got a puppy. I thought, “I like being with dogs. I wonder if there are any jobs like that?” I started pet sitting and dog walking during the day. I looked further into it and find dog grooming. I found a local school with a 500 hour program that worked around my family’s schedule. My husband helped out with the kids and my dog walking. I started grooming out of my house during school hours. I have been doing it for four years now.

Like I said, it can be done. If you are persistent enough to potty train a child (or two) than you are persistent enough to start a business doing something you love. Success in both of those areas will make you a much happier person!

