It is Sunday. The seventh day of the week. The day of rest.

Like many others, I was taught that God created the world in six days and on the seventh day, he rested. So the third commandment tells us “Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor, and do all your work; but the seventh day is a sabbath to the Lord your God; in it you shall not do any work.

That is a really nice idea. But it doesn’t work for me. I would love to wake up, go to church and spend the rest of the day doing something as a family, or just resting. Could you imagine a day with no chores at all?

At our house, the seventh day is catch up day. It means that with everything on my to-do list, there was no way I could get it done in six days. (Most of the time, seven is not enough either.) It is a day to stock up on groceries, do laundry, fill out permission slips, pay bills, nag kids to practice instruments or finish homework, run errands, etc. For my husband, it also includes a project or two. It is for all the things that can’t be done during the week.

Last year, in addition to being a catch up day, it was also a day of practice. I told everyone that I did NOT want to have practices or games on Friday nights or Sundays. Well guess what? We did. Basketball practice was on Friday nights from 8:30 to 9:30 and softball practice ran in the middle of Sunday afternoon. It also became the day for make up games. Hard to catch up when the seventh day is filled with activities like the other six days!

So how did we get to this point? How did we go from shedding our work clothes, dressing in our Sunday best and spending the day worshiping God and all he has made? Why did we get so busy? You would think, with the invention of things like the dishwasher, washing machine, and the vacuum cleaner, the modern woman would have tons of time on her hands. Why, then, did we fill that time with practices and more chores?

I don’t have the answer, and as I sit here and ponder, I am already falling behind on my to-do list for today. Enjoy your day of rest!

