My husband has been at business dinners this week, leaving us on our own for dinner. That is both good and bad. When he is out of town, the kids usually ask for breakfast for dinner – an idea my husband thinks is ridiculous. Yesterday, we had to be out the door at 5:30 for my daughter’s chorus concert so our nutritious dinner was Little Caesars pizza. Gross and full of carbs, yet fast and cheap.

Last night, he came home and told me that tonight, he will be home for dinner. I can’t really ask him to make dinner, since he will be rolling in at 6:00, so it is up to me. Normally, I love to cook – when I am prepared. I am doing the after school shuffle with all three kids so I am looking for something quick or a crock pot meal. I poured over my recipe books and a few binders that I keep clipped recipes in. Using the ingredients that I had on hand, this is what I came up with. Let me know what sounds most appetizing.

1. Chipotle Pork Soft Tacos with Pineapple Salsa – kids will probably hate it. I will save their pork for sandwiches.
2. Red Beans and Rice with Smoked Sausage – I don’t think this will be a winner in the kids eyes, either. Just trying to use up the smoked sausage before it goes out of date.
3. Potato soup – Hot, yummy and guaranteed to put you to sleep early.
4. Seared Scallops with Warm Tuscan Beans- again, not looking favorable with the kids.

Plan B – It’s $1.00 taco night at El Famous Burrito. So far, this has my vote.

