Isn’t it amazing how differently men and women view their aging body. My husband, like most men, think he looks like that same kid I met 25 years ago – but even better. Now don’t get me wrong, my husband is in great shape, works out five days a week and does resemble a older version of the boy I fell in love with. He doesn’t seem to care that he has less hair than that guy. That’s just part of his charm.

While he is flexing in the mirror, I am avoiding it. Yes, I still have a thin frame and wear single digit clothes. However, my body is also 25 years older. I had three kids in six years. Things are not all in the same place as they used to be.

Women think men fall in love with them for their looks. I’m sure that is a factor, but is it certainly not the reason they stay in love with them. We all know it’s what’s inside that counts. However, I still think that if I stopped coloring my hair, wore shapeless clothes and let myself go, my husband would be a little disappointed. Men on the other hand, think you fell in love with them for some reason other than their looks. My husband and I met in high school. He jokes that I fell in love with him for his car. The fact that he has gained 25 lbs since high school or lost some of his hair doesn’t matter to him. (Side note: The car in question was a 1975 Buick Lesabre. This car died in my parent’s driveway and had to be towed away by Victory Auto Wreckers.)

I was reading an article in Redbook Magazine (Love your whole body by Aaron Traister) about the same subject. He talks about his wife looking at herself in the mirror and writes, “How can she pinch and grab and criticize the parts of her that tell the best stories of our life?” I never thought of it that way.

Getting older is part of the journey of our life together. When I see these wrinkles, gray hairs, and shifted body parts in the mirror, I should try to view them as badges of honor and not battle scars. I wonder where I can find one of those carnival mirrors?

