On Friday night, my husband and I went to a wine tasting sponsored by our church. The church has many “small groups” of people that share a common interest to promote fellowship among the members. We went there knowing a handful of people. By knowing, I mean, we had a conversation at church with them for a few minutes. I actually only knew one other person, but I hadn’t talked to her in a few months.

Although it sounds intimidating to enter a room of strangers for a party, we felt very welcomed. Already, we had a common bond – actually two, if you add the church – so starting conversations was pretty easy. As the night moved on, and the wine flowed, we learned a few things about the other members and everyone shared their best stories. We had a lot of laughs and left there talking about how much we enjoyed ourselves.

Two nights later, we spent the evening with friends and neighbors that we have known since we moved here. We walked into that house like Norm on Cheers. We know their stories, their families, and their kids, as they know ours. Our conversations seem to pick up from the last time we were together – How is your mom doing? How was your job interview? How is your daughter doing on the project at school? We have shared countless good times with these friends and can always count on them.

A year and a half ago, I started a new bunco in my neighborhood consisting of friends of mine that didn’t all know each other. These women were all willing to make new friends, listen to new stories and share some of their own. I am proud to say that these woman bonded and have formed friendships outside of bunco. They started with their common bonds – kids go to same school district, friend of mine – and built from there.

I continue to make new friends through my kids activities and my blogging and reconnect with old friends through Facebook. I have people from my life BC (before children) that I am still friends with today. Our common bonds have changed some, but now we share a history. When asked why I seek new friends all the time, I told them it is because people are interesting and have a story to tell.

So I ask, can you really have too many friends?

