My husband and I voted a few weeks ago. We wanted to keep up the Chicago tradition of vote early, and vote often. Just kidding. We were going out to lunch and decided to go vote early. Not that our polling place is standing room only, but it was nice to be the only ones voting. It gave us a chance to pick the next governor that would go to jail – I mean, go to Springfield.

I don’t follow politics as much as some people do. I get most of my information from the evening news. I come from a long line of political debaters from both sides of the aisle. I have my opinions, as you all know, but I don’t like to debate politics. I lean more to one side than the other, but I can’t name every bill, policy and agenda that each politician supports like some people can.

I have voted in most elections since I turned 18, with the exception of some of the primaries. I vote because I think of the women before us that fought for that right to vote. Women have only had the right to vote in this country for less than 100 years. The only exception to that was New Jersey from 1776 to 1807. They allowed unmarried and widowed woman to vote as long as they owned property. They changed it to avoid electoral fraud and simplified it to only white males. They had to wait another 100+ years for the vote again.

Women were given the right to vote in the US in 1920 when the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution became law. I wonder how many of those Congressmen were voted out that year? The anti-suffragists at the time claimed that woman would never leave their domestic duties to go out and vote. As ridiculous as that sounds, I have seen it happen in my town. On election day, I have seen my neighbors go about their normal routine and never find the time to get to the polls. These are the same women that have political signs in their front yards. Are they just for show? I asked them why they didn’t vote and the answers are always that they were too busy. Really? The polls are open for 13 hours.

Please do yourself a favor and take a few minutes today to give your two cents about the election. Every vote does count. I always say, if you didn’t vote, you have no right to complain later. Don’t let the efforts of the Suffragists go to waste. Exercise your right to vote!

