Happy New Year! I have been thinking about resolutions this week. Many of the popular ones seem like torture to me. These goals we set for ourselves are so far fetched that we are setting ourselves up for failure. Who wants to start out the new year that way?

The most popular New Year’s Resolutions revolve around diet and exercise. Many people go out and buy equipment, join gyms and start crazy diets. They look back at the numerous parties they attended in November and December and realize they cannot try every appetizer and dessert without adding some weight. The food at parties, although yummy, is not for your everyday consumption. You will probably lose weight just by going back to your regular diet! The gyms will be crowded for the first two months, but then life will get in the way and the Resolution people will go back home. That treadmill they bought? Most likely it will become a coat rack.

Spending more time with family and friends is a popular resolution, but isn’t that what we have been doing for the past two months? Getting out of debt is another good one, but very hard to swallow after seeing the Christmas Visa bill. Quit a bad habit like smoking or drinking? Not after seeing the Visa bill or spending all that time with family!

So what is left? I wanted to find something that I enjoy doing that will improve my life. I guess my resolution revolves around the popular “learn something new” category. I love to read and I got a Nook for my birthday. How can I make a New Year’s Resolution out of that? How about read a classic novel every month? Somehow, in the eight English classes I took between high school and college, I missed a lot of the classic novels and I have always regretted it. I don’t expect to fail this resolution. I usually have two or three books going at the same time in addition to magazines and blogs. I read during every down time minute I have. Twelve books in a year? Piece of cake! To some, like my husband, this resolution seems like torture. To me, it sounds like fun. Education without trying.

Maybe that is the solution to the resolution. Maybe one person’s torture is another person’s idea of a good time. Resolutions are a personal thing. Take some time to think about yours. If it doesn’t work out, there is always next year!

