A friend from church sent me a website that helps you declutter your home. It is called FlyLady. Since my house is a cluttered mess right now, I thought it would be good to check it out. Her first question is “Do you live in CHAOS? (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome)”. Although I don’t think I am that bad, I do think we have a lot of junk that we never use/don’t need/forgot about. So I kept on reading.

The idea is to start small, cleaning and decluttering until it is a habit. Day one she wants you to clean your kitchen sink. Since I don’t have a kitchen sink right now, I improvised and just washed the dishes we had in the bathroom tub. That was it. Day two, she wants you to get dressed first thing in the morning, right down to your shoes. I thought that was interesting. I get up between 5 and 5:30 everyday, but don’t usually shower and get dressed until 8:00. However, that is the time when my kids want to go over their spelling words “one more time”. It is also the time we are looking for lost items that need to go to school with them. That means my shower and personal time either has an audience or it is rushed. That was reason enough for me to get completely ready first thing in the morning.

Sidenote: A benefit I didn’t even consider is that the first person showering in the morning has all the hot water. Yesterday morning, I was downstairs and fully dressed with make up on at 6:20. I went to make myself breakfast and sit for a minute before the morning chaos began. However, we had no milk – at all. The bottle was even missing. So, fully dressed, I went to the store. At least I got a good parking spot.

Back to my story. On Day three, she wants you to join the group. This is free and comes with email reminders and little decluttering projects. She is a bit of an email Nazi. In one morning, I probably got 10 emails. I hope that is because I am new. Clutter comes in the form of emails, too! However, I did find some emails interesting. First, she suggested going through and throwing out 27 pieces of paper in your pile. She didn’t want you to go looking for a pile. She was pretty sure you had one on your counter. I did and threw out almost that many. She had two more projects for the day. Go through your house and gather up 27 things to throw out. Should be easy! She even had a project for the kids. Go through your room and throw out 11 broken toys and/or those with missing pieces. Guess what my kids got to do? I even went a step farther and had them throw out the unmatched socks in their drawers. What are we waiting for? They are never coming back!

The only thing I don’t like is that she doesn’t send you a Day 1, Day 2, etc. email. You have to look that up yourself. On Day 3, you join the group and they bring you to a calendar page. This still does not list your daily activities. I think you can add your own activities but I haven’t gotten that far. Here is the page that you find the daily activities.

Today is Day 4 and I haven’t looked to see what my assignment is. Based on what I have seen so far, I think I will run through all 28 days, even if it is just an experiment for my blog. If I get a cleaner house out of it, all the better. Check out FlyLady and let me know what you think.

