Everyday I look at my giant to-do list and wonder how I am going to get it all done. I am certainly not out to be superwoman. I am just trying to work, run some errands, drive my kids to their activities, spend some time with my husband, keep my house clean and try to relax a little at the end of the day. Somehow, however, a thousand other things come up and there are always things left on the list at the end of the day. The simple solution is to just add them to tomorrow’s already overcrowded list. This goes on and on until my list is so long that it would take a week to complete it all.

To make some extra time in my day, I have been getting up earlier. It’s quiet and still dark outside. Everyone in my house is still asleep. The problem with that is I have to be quiet and not turn on too many lights. Outside of getting ahead on paperwork or emails, I am limited to what I can accomplish. On top of that, I can’t stay up to watch the 10:00 news because I am exhausted. If I were a night person, I would have the same problem with the lights and quiet house and I wouldn’t be able to get up for my daughter’s 6:30 am carpool.

What I really need is a day that is longer than 24 hours. Since this is my fantasy, I would put my extra time right in the middle of the day. The kids would still be at school, my husband would be working and the time would be mine. Unfortunately, with the kids in school for longer hours, their teachers would come up with more homework, projects and ultimately, aggravation for me after school. Never mind. It’s not worth it.

What would I do with my extra time? Relax? Clearly I am not getting up earlier to sit and relax. No, I am trying to back up my computer, clean out closets, make a creative meal that my kids will eat, workout, send a birthday card that does not read “sorry this is late”, and a million other things. Some people might say to give up some of the things on my list or get help. Any one with kids in braces and activities knows there is no money left for help. As far as the things on my list, what do I cut? Right now, my youngest two are only in one extra thing each. My oldest is in a few other things, but they are during the week. I don’t know how people put their kids in several things. I guess they have to let other things go.

So more time is not the answer and neither is less things. How about freezing time? Everyday, I would like to freeze the clocks and work on a bunch of little things to catch up. No one else will be affected because they will never know. I would be up to date on all my pictures, cards, laundry, shopping and have “me” time everyday. That would be heaven. Could you imagine getting caught up and staying that way? Wow! On second thought, what would I complain about at Bunco?

