Do you remember years ago on Seinfeld when George and Jerry wrote a TV show about nothing? It was just supposed to be about everyday stuff – nothing. The whole idea sounds crazy, but, like Seinfeld, it was something most people could relate to.

After school every day, I ask my kids what they did at school that day.

“Nothing”, is their standard answer.

“How could you do nothing? You were there for 6 1/2 hours. You must have done something.”

“No, not really”, they reply. End of discussion.

I am having a case of writer’s block. I have nothing to write about. Nothing? You work with animals all day and have three kids and a husband. Surely you could tell a story about them. Nope. Not a thing comes to mind.

How about new recipes or new wines you have tried? No. I have been making the same meals for the last couple of weeks. It’s hard to be creative when you are running out the door from 3:30 to 7:00 everyday. My wine fridge is filled with several bottles of the same Chardonnay that I always drink.

Any new projects on the horizon? No. The kitchen and the dining room are completed and everything is put away. I would love to start on the next project, but this little thing called “money” has slowed me down. I want to replace all the spindles on my staircase and redo the fireplace in the family room. I also want to repaint that room and get new furniture and electronics. My husband just shook his head when I suggested it.

Have you gone anywhere? Why yes I have! The grocery store, church, kids games, performances and practices, the bank, and two schools. I did go to the mall with my daughters one day. I tried to block out most of that day.

I think my problem is part writer’s block and part seasonal affective disorder – the winter blues. It’s hard to be cheerful when every day is gray and 30 degrees. The grass is brown and most of the snow is melted, leaving behind the garbage from the plow. Weather like this is a killer for creativity of any kind.

March starts tomorrow. It is my least favorite month. The old saying, “In like a lion, out like a lamb” is not always true. March can be beautiful and springlike with warm weather or it can be gray and wet with snow and sleet. Chicago had a blizzard on Ground Hog’s Day this year so who knows what we can expect!

The good news is that Daylight Savings time starts early this year on March 13th – less than two weeks away! Spring starts just seven days later on March 20th. I guess we just need to hang in there a little longer.

,

