When I was a kid, Sunday night dinner was a big deal. We ate at 3:00 in the afternoon and it was usually a roast or something that took hours to cook. Often times, we would have Sunday dinner with my grandparents. Now that I am the parent, we do not eat that early. Sunday dinner is the same time as the rest of the week – between 6:00 and 7:00pm. Our menu depends on our mood, which one of us is cooking and what our activities are for the day. Sometimes, Sunday night dinner is pizza.

Last night, my husband cooked the meat and I made the sides. It was a warm day and our kids were out in the yard with friends. The weather was iffy and looked like rain was coming at any second. My husband was planning beer can chicken, but decided to cook it in the oven and then put it on the grill for the last 10 or 15 minutes. It was delicious! Here are pics and his recipe:

– Rub whole chicken (we prefer oven roasters to fryers) with olive oil
– Shake equal parts of oregano, paprika, rosemary, salt and pepper and his secret ingredient, Vegeta on both sides of the chicken. (Vegeta is a gourmet seasoning and soup mix. Locals can find it at Caputos.)
– Place breast side up in a roasting pan with equal parts (12oz.) beer and chicken broth.
– Cover with foil
– Cook in oven for 2 1/4 hours at 350. Finish on preheated grill, seven minutes on each side. (If you don’t want to grill, leave it in oven until it reaches an internal temperature of 170 degrees.)

On the side we had tomato and mozzarella with balsamic vinegar. I like Bel Gioioso Fresh Mozzarella because it comes presliced and Modenaceti Balsamic Vinegar. I didn’t have any fresh basil this time, so I used dried basil.

Our other side was what we call White Trash Potato Salad. It was made up years ago at my brother-in-law’s house. The guys were cooking and only had a few ingredients. I never liked potato salad because my family made it with Miracle Whip. Gross! We make it with real mayo. Here is the four-ingredient recipe:

– Russett potatoes – I made about 3 lbs. (to be used another night, too)
– 6 boiled eggs – cut on egg slicer both vertically and horizontally
– Yellow Mustard
– Hellman’s Mayo

I don’t measure out the mayo and mustard, but instead flavor it to taste. I never peel my potatoes, making it quick and easy (the white trash part).

The best part about last night’s dinner is that I have stuff ready for the next two nights. I will use the left over chicken (we made two chickens) to make my Chicken Enchilada Casserole and the potato salad will be used Tuesday night with something else. If I have more leftover chicken, I will freeze it and make another chicken recipe next week. There are so many recipes that call for cooked chicken. I will let you know when I find one I like.

