A few years ago, I went to a Pampered Chef party that a neighbor was having. I have been to so many Pampered Chef parties and have plenty of gadgets that I use once and never take out again. However, it was a ladies night out, there was wine and I needed a break. If it cost me another gadget, I was willing to do it. I went and politely listened to their sales spiel and flipped through the catalog. Although they never mentioned the item that night, I found something that I would actually use. It was an eight quart bowl that collapses down to fit in the cabinet.

We use it several times a week for salad because you can mix it without half of the salad ending up on the counter. The bowl comes with a lid that is great for storage or to bring the bowl to a party. When you collapse it down, it can be used as a chip bowl and it fits nicely in the cabinet. We definitely got our $25 worth.

A year ago my husband was being thoughtful and cleaned up from dinner. He put the lid in the dishwasher (it is dishwasher safe) but it slipped down and burned on the heating coil in the bottom of the dishwasher. After that, it never fit the same. We kept broken lid if only to help drain the water from washing the lettuce. I found it very annoying that the lid didn’t fit, but my husband continued to use it. This winter, during a party, my husband put the salad on the deck with the lid covering, but not closing tightly. The bowl did not fit in the fridge due to the several sides already dished up. Not knowing he put the bowl outside, I let the dogs out. Can you guess what happened to our salad? They did not eat it, but instead tasted each piece, wondering why it did not taste like the smell coming from the grill.

Recently, I went to unload the dishwasher that my husband loaded the night before. He put the lid in the dishwasher again. The poor lid had now permanently curled up to look like a hard shell taco. It has seen its last day. What would we do with an eight quart bowl without a lid?

I looked online at the Pampered chef website hoping to find a replacement lid. Unfortunately, they didn’t sell them separately. I decided to call the customer service number and spoke to someone about my dilemma. I gave him my name and verified my address and he found the exact date I bought the bowl. Turns out it was under warranty and they would replace it for FREE! I quickly boxed it up and took it to the post office. Less than 10 days later, I had a new lid.

Thank you, Pampered Chef, for keeping such great records and guaranteeing your products will survive the wrath of the dishwasher!

