I just finished a book in four days. The best books for me are the ones that move fast. They pull you in right away. You read page after page until you look at the clock and realize your alarm is going off in four hours and you should probably take a break. Of course reading at that rate means that you will finish the book quickly – thus my definition of a quick summer read. If it is so good, why don’t I read it slowly to enjoy the book for a few weeks instead of a few days? If you had a piece of chocolate cake, would you gobble it all in one sitting or just take little bites of it all day? You are still going to finish it either way, so why not do it quickly so you will be ready for the next chocolate cake that comes your way? In my opinion, you can never have too much chocolate cake or too many page turning books.

The book is Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult. When I have mentioned this book to friends and neighbors, I got mixed reactions. It had nothing to do with the story since none of them had read it, but instead it had to do with the author. Some are big fans and others don’t like her at all. I have read most of Jodi’s books and enjoyed the majority of them. I guess I like her writing style – the way she changes point of view of the story. I like the fact that she chooses many different and often controversial subjects for her books.

I have been a Jodi Picoult fan for a long time without knowing it. Last year, when we cemented the floor of the crawlspace, I had to pull out all the stuff that has been in there since we moved here. I also replaced all the cardboard boxes with Rubbermaid bins. I came across a scrapbook that I made in high school that included comic strips, poems, articles and short stories. I flipped through it and found a short story that was published in Seventeen Magazine in 1987. It was a story about a high school girl who broke up with her boyfriend and how she coped with it by counting the tiles at the mall. As she counted, she recalled where they went wrong. I read it again as I was cleaning the crawlspace and when I finished, I glanced at the author’s name. It was Jodi Picoult.

Sing You Home is about a woman who struggles with infertility, loss and other personal struggles. She finds herself in an unexpected relationship and fights for the basic needs that many of us take for granted – personal identity, love, family, and motherhood.

The book comes with a CD of songs that Jodi suggests to play while you read. I did not even open the CD envelope. My husband hates when I read in bed as it is. Could you imagine me bringing in the Bose stereo and playing music while he tried to sleep? The CD thing was not my cup of tea, but you have to give her creativity points. The main character is a music therapist so the CD is a nice tie-in.

The book is a perfect summer read at the pool, on vacation or to read while waiting to pick up kids from their activities. There are so many ups and downs in the book that you will find yourself flipping to the next chapter to see if the problem worked out. The book keeps you wondering if the good guys are going to win until the very last page. If you read it and try the CD, let me know how you liked it.

