Over the weekend, we were invited to dinner at our friend’s house. Naturally, I asked what I could bring. My friend wanted me to make an appetizer and I decided I would try something new. We have eaten dozens of meals with this group of friends and we have all gotten into a rut; asking everyone to bring the same appetizers, side dishes and desserts.

I started out looking in my cookbooks and clippings that I save from magazines, but I couldn’t find anything appealing. I found a couple ideas online and then improvised from there. It is one of those recipes that you can add whatever suits your taste or whatever you have on hand. My appetizer is listed below. Everyone liked them and I will add them to my appetizer rotation.

Ingredients:
2 sheets of refrigerated pie crusts
8 slices of bacon
2 small tomatoes, chopped with seeds removed
6 oz. shredded cheese (I used cheddar)
1 ½ jalapeno pepper – seeds removed.
Preheat oven according to directions on pie crust box. Mine was 450 degrees.

Line mini muffin tins with pie crust. I measured size of cups with a regular muffin cup liner, cut it to size and found a cup that had the same circumference. I used the cup to cut out the pie crusts. Mix all other ingredients in a bowl. Scoop into crust lined muffin cups. My crust was a little higher than the top of the muffin tray so you could fit more into it.

Bake according to pie crust directions – mine was for 10 minutes.

Note:
If you want to substitute the pie crust, you could use refrigerated biscuit dough cut into thirds and line the cups. Wonton wrappers work well, too, if you are looking for a thinner crust. Use the phyllo frozen cups if you don’t have a mini muffin tin. They stand up by themselves.

Enjoy!

