Last night I made Cocido Madrileño or Madrilenian Stew. It is a hearty Spanish stew that I saw online. There are so many versions of this stew so I just took a little from each one. My husband and I loved it, but as I expected, the kids wouldn’t touch it. I was a picky eater as a kid, too so I get it. More for us! My son had Chorizo and eggs, my middle daughter made herself a salad, fresh fruit and pierogies and my oldest daughter ate out.

There is a lot of time spent cutting the vegetables for this recipe. You can either do ahead and refrigerate or ask someone to help you. It’s a great time to catch up with the family or your husband over a glass of wine. (By the way, we had Montepulciano with the stew. I didn’t have Spanish wine!) Let me know if you make it and if you liked it.

1 package of beef back ribs (there were 3 in my package)
1 package (about a pound) of beef stew meat
32oz. chicken or beef broth
6 minced garlic cloves
2 tablespoons cumin
2 tablespoons oregano
28oz can of petite diced tomatoes
3 large carrots chopped in bite sized pieces
2 green peppers chopped
2 sweet onions chopped
2 Chayote squash (picture below) peeled and chopped
3 medium potatoes peeled and chopped
1 can garbanzo beans (chick peas)
2 Chorizo sausages

Garnish with avocado slides and ciltrano leaves

Brown ribs and stew meat in a pan with a little olive oil. It does not have to be cooked through.

Place in large pot with 32oz. broth. Add garlic, cumin, oregano and tomatoes and bring to a boil.

Cut up peppers and onions and sauté in a little olive oil until al dente. Pour into pot with meat.

Cut up carrots, squash and potatoes and place in pot with can of drained garbanzo beans.

In a separate pan, cook up the sausages (casing removed) for 8 to 10 minutes. Drain off fat and pour into pot.

Continue cooking until potatoes are ready – about 30 minutes.

Serve with hearty bread or corn tortilla on the side.

Enjoy!

Chayote Squash - unpeeled. Tastes like a cross between a cumcumber and a zucchini


