I often look at writing prompts when I have writer’s block. It really gets the creative juices flowing and temporarily blocks the non-stop to do list in my head. Here is something I tried from Writer’s Digest. The prompt was: Write a 20-line rhyming poem about something that really annoys you. I am not a poet, but after looking around my house on Sunday morning, I thought it was appropriate.

The Litter Bugs that live with me
Are constantly leaving messes.
The sight of all the clutter
Is causing me lots of stresses.

The path starts at the door
And follows them down the hall
It winds around the house –
A mess left by all.

Water bottles, wrappers,
And cups and plates galore.
The food trail that they leave
Makes me shout, “No more!”

Backpacks, sports equipment,
Books, and homework, too
Dirty clothes and missing pieces
What else will they do?

Isn’t this every mother’s cry
To clean up after her kid?
My only comfort is hoping
That their children act like mine did.

