When I wrote this title, I had to laugh.  I have been writing this blog for about 2 years, sharing product and book reviews, recipes and of course, stories of my journey as a mom. Although I am having a good time writing, sharing and learning about myself, I find myself standing at a fork in the road. What is next, I wonder. My kids are getting older and often read my blog on their own Facebook or Twitter accounts. They are good sports about the stuff I share, but I am finding it more difficult to tell a story without sharing too much. It is one thing to tell your friends at Bunco. It is another to share it with the world.

Over the past year, I have taken my experiences and written articles that I sold for online content. Although it wasn’t much, I did get paid for it. When I questioned my success as a writer, I reminded myself of a quote by Stephen King:

If you wrote something for which someone sent you a check, if you cashed the check and it didn’t bounce, and if you then paid the light bill with the money, I consider you talented.

In his book, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft, he talks of his many rejection letters. After he received the first one, he nailed it to his wall so he could look at it. He continued to submit until he couldn’t fit anymore rejection letters and they had to be stored elsewhere. The rejection letters did not discourage him. He loved writing and he kept submitting until someone bought his work and then he wrote some more.

So I thought I should do the same. I started sending articles to magazines last month. I entered contests. I signed up for a magazine writing class that is taught by an author I have admired for years. And it has kept me busy. I haven’t had too much time to write about my journey as a mom.

The fork in the road comment is funny to me because in an effort to keep writing and blogging and keeping my name out there, I started a food blog. (Get it? Fork in the road – Fork for eating – ha-ha) It gives me a chance to combine three of my hobbies – writing, photography and cooking. The blog, Wine and Dine with Us, is only three weeks old, and as of this morning, I have posted 9 recipes. I have also joined a food blog network and had good feedback. My Pinterest friends may have seen some of the posts as I have promoted my new blog. You can see them below:

Snacking on Crockpot Ribs

Swai Fish with Vegetable Kabobs

It Wasn’t Supposed to be Hot Sausage and White Bean Chili

Easy Homemade Croutons

Pork Tacos with Jicama and Black Bean Salsa

Brownie Muffins with Hershey Kisses

Easy and Delicious Marinara with Meatballs

Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Roasted Potatoes and Onions

I have decided to keep writing This Mom’s Journey, although to a lesser extent. It will be my vacation home instead of my main residence. I have also decided to stop posting it to Facebook. I want to start posting my food blog to Facebook and don’t want to be an “over-poster”. You are welcome to follow me via email, Google or just stop by now and then. This is not an end. I just want to take another road for a while and see where it goes.

I always appreciate your comments and hope you will stop by my new home at Wine and Dine with Us.

Pam

